Bridgerton Reading Guide: A suggested reading order for newcomers to the series


A girl holding 4 books of The Bridgerton Collection from Once Upon a Book Club


Are you new to the world of the Bridgertons? Are you unsure where to begin with this enchanting series of love and romance? Fear not, for we have crafted a suggested reading guide for those who are ready to dive into the Bridgerton Collection!


Introducing the Bridgerton Collection and why it's worth reading

Before we get into the reading order, let's give a brief introduction to the Bridgerton Collection. This series of novels, authored by Julia Quinn, transports readers to the opulent world of Regency England. Here, amidst the lavish balls and scandalous gossip, we follow the lives and love stories of the Bridgerton family.

The Bridgerton Collection from Once Upon a Book Club consists of two volumes, each containing multiple books. With custom artwork on the cover, spine, and back cover, as well as custom end papers, the books are truly a work of art. 

The first volume includes: 

  • The Duke and I
  • The Viscount Who Loved Me
  • An Offer From a Gentleman
  • Romancing Mister Bridgerton

The second volume includes: 

  • To Sir Phillip, With Love
  • When He Was Wicked
  • It's in His Kiss
  • On the Way to the Wedding

In addition to the books, there are additional items available for purchase, such as an iron key and a floral Bridgerton-inspired scarf. The iron key was originally paired with The Viscount Who Loved Me in the 2021 Bridgerton Volume 1 box, while the floral Bridgerton scarf was originally paired with An Offer From A Gentleman in our Bridgerton Volume 1 box. These items serve as delightful additions to the reading experience, immersing readers even further into the world of the Bridgertons. 

Now, without further ado, let's dive into the suggested reading order for newcomers to the series!

A Guide to the Reading Order of the Bridgerton Series


The Viscount Who Loved Me


The Duke and I

We suggest starting with the first book in the series, The Duke and I. This novel introduces readers to the Bridgerton family and their illustrious world, as well as the two main characters, Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset, the Duke of Hastings. Set in the vibrant world of Regency England, The Duke and I weaves a tale of love, deception, and scandal that will have you turning pages late into the night.


The Viscount Who Loved Me

As fans of The Duke and I, we cannot emphasize enough how much we recommend delving into The Viscount Who Loved Me. This novel not only continues the captivating story of the Bridgerton family but also shifts the focus to the eldest sibling, Anthony. As he navigates his own love story, readers will find themselves drawn into a world of forbidden desires, unexpected challenges, and heart-wrenching revelations. It's a captivating read that will have you eagerly turning each page, desperate to know how it all unfolds. We promise you won't be disappointed with this second installment of the Bridgerton series.


An Offer From a Gentleman

This enchanting novella takes readers on a journey through the emotional trials and tribulations of Benedict and Sophie as they navigate their way through love, secrets, and societal expectations. Julia Quinn has woven a tale that will have you turning pages well into the night, eager to find out how it all ends. Full of charm and heart, An Offer From a Gentleman is a must-read for any lover of historical romance.


Romancing Mister Bridgerton

Romancing Mister Bridgerton tells the tale of a love story that defies societal norms. Colin Bridgerton, the charming and handsome man of the hour, finds himself falling in love with the most unexpected person - Penelope Featherington. As the story unfolds, readers can't help but be captivated by the bond between these two characters. It's a story that takes us on a journey of discovery, both for our protagonists and ourselves. We find ourselves rooting for them, cheering them on, and ultimately falling in love with them ourselves. Romancing Mister Bridgerton is a beautiful love story that will leave you breathless and wanting more.


To Sir Phillip, With Love

The fifth novel in the series, To Sir Phillip, With Love tells the story of Phillip Crane, a widower with two young children, and his unexpected attraction to Eloise Bridgerton. To Sir Phillip, With Love is a novel that will capture your heart from the first page. The story of Phillip Crane and Eloise Bridgerton is one that is filled with unexpected twists and turns, but ultimately ends in a heartwarming romance that will leave you feeling uplifted and hopeful. 

What sets this novel apart, however, is its exploration of complex family dynamics. We see Phillip navigate the challenges of raising two young children as a widower, while Eloise grapples with her own family issues. These layered storylines make for a truly captivating read. Whether you're a fan of romance novels or simply seeking a heartwarming story that will make you believe in love again, To Sir Phillip, With Love is a must-read.


When He Was Wicked

In When He Was Wicked, readers are drawn into the captivating tale of Michael Stirling and his enduring love for Francesca Bridgerton. Throughout the novel, we get to see how Michael's affection for his cousin's wife evolves from a simple crush to a deep-seated passion. Despite the complications and challenges that stand in their way, Michael remains devoted to Francesca, and readers cannot help but root for him as he tries to win her heart. With its intriguing plot and complex characters, When He Was Wicked is a must-read for anyone in search of an enthralling love story.


It's in His Kiss

Fans of the Bridgerton series are in for a treat with It's in His Kiss, the penultimate novel in the beloved saga. This time around, we follow the tenacious journalist Hyacinth Bridgerton as she embarks on a mission to uncover long-held family secrets. But as she delves deeper into the shadows of the past, she finds herself unexpectedly falling for the enigmatic Gareth St. Clair. With all the signature charm and wit that readers have come to love from this series, It's in His Kiss is a delightful romp through the world of Regency-era London.


On the Way to the Wedding

In the final book of the series, On the Way to the Wedding, readers are taken on one last adventure, witnessing the youngest Bridgerton sibling, Gregory, tie the knot. However, as with any wedding, there are always challenges to overcome. And this wedding is no exception, with trials and tribulations that keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end. It's the perfect conclusion to a series that has captured readers' hearts and imaginations since the very beginning.


So there you have it, our suggested reading order for those new to the world of the Bridgertons. This series is perfect for hopeless romantics and lovers of period dramas alike. Don't forget to grab your Bridgerton merchandise and immerse yourself fully in this enchanting world!