A hardcover copy of The Leopard Behind the Moon sits on a yellow background. Black feathers are in the corners of the image.
A hardcover copy of The Leopard Behind the Moon by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev sits on a yellow box with green leaves in the corner of the image.

The Leopard Behind the Moon - BOOK ONLY

Regular price$17.00
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • Free US Shipping!
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

A hardcover edition of The Leopard Behind the Moon by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev as featured in our July 2023 "Village of Magic" Middle Grade box!

About the Book

A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

No one knows what lies beyond the magical village door, but Ezomo is determined to find out. Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev’s debut is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, family, and long-standing traditions. The power of storytelling comes to life in this novel perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly, Tracey Baptiste, and Tae Keller.

There are three important laws in Ezomo’s village: Do not go to The Valley, do not go out at night, and never, ever, ever open the magical door that protects them all. But when Ezomo encounters the leopard believed to have killed his father, he and his two best friends embark on a journey that leads them past the boundaries set by their elders.

With his friends by his side, Ezomo chases after the leopard, certain that it has the power to cure all. But in the process, he discovers the truth about his village. And that cautionary tales exist for a reason.

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev’s debut novel balances a gripping adventure with themes of friendship, community, identity, grief, and resilience. Poignant and memorable, Ezomo’s story will appeal to fantasy lovers and readers of Grace Lin and Kelly Barnhill.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed