Women of War - Full Box - Once Upon a Book Club

Women of War - Full Box

13 Reviews
Regular price$59.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • Free US Shipping!

Experience our July 2022 Adult box featuring War Girls by V.S. Alexander plus FOUR gifts that bring this powerful historical fiction novel to life!

This was the FIRST Once Upon a Book Club monthly box to feature a custom edition, including custom foiling on the hard case, stenciled edges, custom end papers, and is the only hardcover edition in production.

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Kristin Harmel, and Pam Jenoff, this new historical fiction novel from an acclaimed author is based on true WWII stories of life in the Warsaw Ghetto during the Occupation and the women who served the Allies as agents and spies. Casting light into one of the darkest periods of World War II, this powerful book tells of two Jewish sisters– one imprisoned in Poland and the other who joins the Special Operations Executive in a daring attempt to free her family from the Nazis.

It’s not just a thousand miles that separates Hanna Majewski from her younger sister, Stefa. There is another gulf—between the traditional Jewish ways that Hanna chose to leave behind in Warsaw, and her new, independent life in London. But as autumn of 1940 draws near, Germany begins a savage aerial bombing campaign in England, killing and displacing tens of thousands. Hanna, who narrowly escapes death, is recruited as a spy in an undercover operation that sends her back to her war-torn homeland.

In Hanna’s absence, her parents, sister, and brother have been driven from their comfortable apartment into the Warsaw Ghetto. Sealed off from the rest of the city, the Ghetto becomes a prison for nearly half a million Jews, struggling to survive amid starvation, disease, and the constant threat of deportation to Treblinka. Once a pretty and level-headed teenager, Stefa is now committed to the Jewish resistance. Together, she, Hanna, and Janka, a family friend living on the Aryan side of the city, form a trio called The War Girls. Against overwhelming odds and through heartbreak they will fight to rescue their loved ones, finding courage through sisterhood to keep hope alive . . .

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Customer Reviews

Based on 30 reviews
73%
(22)
13%
(4)
7%
(2)
7%
(2)
0%
(0)
T
Toishinna Lopez
It is an intense story

Where to begin? Though the story is fictional, the events were horribly not. I knew going in this book was going to pull at my heart. This author has a way to get you rooting for his characters and feeling so bad when all you can do is nothing but read what happens next. The pen is definitely mightier than the sword in this case because I had to keep reminding myself that these are fictional characters but I knew that so many people who lived during those times were faced with those hardships. The gifts that came with it, were just the cherry on top.

T
Toishinna Lopez
It is an intense story

Where to begin? Though the story is fictional, the events were horribly not. I knew going in this book was going to pull at my heart. This author has a way to get you rooting for his characters and feeling so bad when all you can do is nothing but read what happens next. The pen is definitely mightier than the sword in this case because I had to keep reminding myself that these are fictional characters but I knew that so many people who lived during those times were faced with those hardships. The gifts that came with it, were just the cherry on top.

K
Kelsey Merkel
Great Book

The book was beautiful and the gifts went along with the story perfectly.

K
Kelsey Merkel
Great Book

The book was beautiful and the gifts went along with the story perfectly.

L
Lois Jackson
Ok

It was ok

Book Clubber Testimonials

★★★★★

I love Once Upon a Book Club. Each month offers a book with a collection of gifts that bring the words on the pages to life. My collection is growing and I even had to purchased new book shelves. I love the boxes!

Mitzi V.
Lake Charles, LA
★★★★★

Once Upon a Book Club is a reader’s delight. The concept of this book box is so unique, it combines your love of reading with the joy opening presents.

Darrie D.
Oceanside, NY
★★★★★

The gifts truly bring the story to life and perfectly match what’s happening in the story. For example-the main character might have gotten a bracelet from her best friend in the story. And then you get that bracelet as a gift! It’s so fun because it’s an immersive experience.

Monique B.
Elmhurst, IL

Recently viewed