A pink Once Upon a Book Club box is at the top of the image. Below (from left to right) are a bookclub kit, bookmark, pale pink drawstring bag, quote card, paperback edition of Never Name the Dead, and two white boxes. The boxes and bag are all labeled with page numbers.

Guided by Flames - Full Box

Regular price$59.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • Free US Shipping!
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

The stunning November 2022 Adult box featured the phenomenal mystery novel Never Name the Dead by D.M. Rowell! Also included were 3 gifts that brought this spectacular read to life!

How It Works!
  1. Start reading your monthly book! Each box includes an exciting new read and your experience begins the moment you turn to page one.
  2. As you read, you'll find "Open Your Gift" sticky notes! Unwrap the gift with the matching page number and experience the book coming to life before your eyes!
  3. Chat about your reading experience with readers around the globe! Our private Facebook group is the perfect place to meet dedicated readers like you!

About the Book

Old grudges, tribal traditions, and outside influences collide for a Kiowa woman as forces threaten her family, her tribe, and the land of her ancestors, in this own-voices debut perfect for fans of Winter Counts.

No one called her Mud in Silicon Valley. There, she was Mae, a high-powered professional who had left her Kiowa roots behind a decade ago. But a cryptic voice message from her grandfather, James Sawpole, telling her to come home sounds so wrong that she catches the next plane to Oklahoma. She never expected to be plunged into a web of theft, betrayal, and murder.

Mud discovers a tribe in disarray. Fracking is damaging their ancestral lands, Kiowa families are being forced to sell off their artifacts, and frackers have threatened to kill her grandfather over his water rights. When Mud and her cousin Denny discover her grandfather missing, accused of stealing the valuable Jefferson Peace medal from the tribe museum—and stumble across a body in his work room—Mud has no choice but to search for answers.

Mud sets out into the Wildlife Refuge, determined to clear her grandfather's name and identify the killer. But Mud has no idea that she's about to embark on a vision quest that will involve deceit, greed, and a charging buffalo—or that a murderer is on her trail.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Customer Reviews

Based on 6 reviews
50%
(3)
50%
(3)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
A
Amanda

The book was great and the gifts were perfect!

A
Alyssa

Good story and loved the gifts!!

K
K.

Loved it!

M
M.
Good

Wasn't my favorite book but i needed to know what happened. Lots of twists and turns. The gifts were amazing

N
N.P.
Great story, pretty okay gifts.

The book was awesome and I though the exploration into Kiowa culture was really well done. I loved the comparisons between the city and childhood life of the main character.

The gifts were pretty good. They are a good value for the money. I feel like some of them could have been more customized to fit Kiowa culture and different aspects from the book (especially the second and third gift), like with Kiowa colors, patterns and words, but overall they did make the book come alive. It is totally fun to guess what they are before opening them.

This was my first box and I will absolutely be purchasing more in the future!


Recently viewed